Tags

, , , ,

I have been very remiss in my posting lately.  Trying to keep up with competitions and social media is killing me!

I haven’t had much time to bead in a while. Traveled at Thanksgiving time. Made some simple things for Christmas gifts, but mainly, just shopping for my kids, spouses and significant others kept me very busy.  Then, of course, having all the kids and others home at Christmas kept me very busy.  Just getting everyone to and from the airport was time consuming enough.

And to be honest, I spend FAR TOO much time playing around with games on my phone and checking Facebook.

This past month I joined the Etsy Bead Embroidery Guild in addition to my membership in the Etsy Beadweavers, so I better get moving on making stuff!

I just completed one piece for each group, both bead embroidery.  My fingers hurt.

Captain Nemo's Garden - Steampunk Bead Fest EntryCaptain Nemo's Garden - Steampunk Bead Fest Entry

Captain Nemo’s Garden – Steampunk Bead Fest Entry

The first piece I completed was for the EBEG SCaptain Nemo’s Garden – Steampunk Bead Fest Entryteampunk Bead Fest, though it is more SEApunk.  Steampunk is a literature genre, generally Victorian science fiction based on the rise of steam power.  I chose Captain Nemo as my inspiration.  The piece evokes a Victiorian collar with cameo, sweet and a bit sinister.  Captain Nemo’s garden is guarded by (or in danger of attack by) an octopus and twin sea monsters.  I used the tiniest beads, 11s and 15s, for most of it.  It was extremely time consuming work.  It can be found on Etsy at: http://www.etsy.com/listing/125049712/

Bay Tree Brooch - Close-up smaller (628x800)My next piece was for the EBW monthly challenge.  We were supposed to use a Faberge Egg as inspiration.  I chose the lovely Bay Tree Egg.  The border alludes to the planter that the tree is in, and the bird is like the one that pops out of the top of the original egg, but this one doesn’t sing!  I really love the way it turned out and am tempted not to sell it.  The listing for this is at: http://www.etsy.com/listing/125398783/

Next, I think I will try my hand at Kumihimo.

Enjoy!

